Cherry Tomato & Chilli Jam

Posted on June 22, 2011

2


I love chutney and rarely buy the ready-made kind any more. Not because my own is particularly superior (in fact there are some jolly lovely chutneys available farm shops up and down the country) but just because making it makes me feel good!!

Slowly simmering a pan of vegetables, sugar, spices and vinegar until it becomes sticky sweet and ladling it into collected jars just feels right. I love going to my shelves and seeing the jars of my homemade delights. A sandwich seems all the more special when the ham and cheese are adorned with your own-made glistening condiments.

I’m also trying to master a few recipes as I shall be serving up jars of these homemade delights at my wedding in four and a bit months time!

Previously on www.parlourandpantry.com I featured a wintry Apple & Raisin Chutney, which hits the spot on cold days, but as we approach summer a more lively creation is required. So, here is a flavoursome Cherry Tomato and Chilli Jam to tickle your tastebuds with. The recipe below will make enough for 4 medium-sized jars, which when sterilised and sealed hot will keep for 6 months unopened. Once opened though, keep in the fridge and eat within 2 weeks.

This recipe is borrowed in its entirity from Delicious Magazine so I can no credit for it! I can however vouch for its easiness (no hours of peeling like some others I’ve made!) and its warm but not burning heat provided by the chilli. I think a teaspoon of smoked paprika wouldn’t go amis either next time I make this.

Cherry Tomato & Chilli Jam 

2 tsp cumin seeds, 2 tsp coriander seeds, 750g ripe cherry tomatoes (halved), 2 onions (finely chopped), 2 fat garlic cloves (crushed), 2 large mild red chillies (deseeded and finely chopped), 5cm piece fresh ginger (grated), 250ml white wine vinegar, 300g soft light brown sugar, 2 tsp soy sauce

Put cumin and coriander seeds in a small frying pan and toast over a low heat for 1 minute, then crush in a pestle and mortar. Put the tomatoes and onions in a wide pan with the garlic, chillies and ginger. Add the spices, vinegar and sugar. Bring to the boil, then simmer until reduced to a jam-like consistency. Add the soy sauce and cook for 2 more minutes before spooning into sterilised jars. Seal the jars while hot, then allow to cool completely before labelling and storing.

Enjoy eating,

Helen x

