Rhubarb & Orange Fool

Posted on June 1, 2011

0


…this is a bit of a follow one of my last posts, where I explained how I happy I was to be gifted with a bunch of lovely rhubarb.

In search of something other than a crumble to use this lovely treat in, I happened upon a recipe for a gooseberry fool and thought some syrup-sweetened rhubarb could happily take the place of gooseberries.

I was always brought up on the mantra of “waste not want not” and with a few spare oranges sitting idly in the fruit bowl, I decided to incorporate some freshly squeezed juice into the fool.

The result, when combined with a half-and-half mix of creme fraiche and natural yoghurt, is a really easy and refreshing spring dessert.

I’ve photographed these with some lemon and rosemary biscotti (recipe to follow next week!), though a nice piece of shortbread or a thin ginger biscuit would be equally lovely!

Rhubarb & Orange Fool (serves 4)

600g rhubarb (about 6 stalks), 100g sugar, 200g creme fraiche (I used half-fat), 200g natural yoghurt (I used low fat), 2 tbsp orange juice, zest of 1 orange, 1 tbsp icing sugar

Chop rhubarb into 2cm pieces and cover with sugar in a microwaveable bowl. Cover and microwave for 3-4 minutes, until softened. Leave covered and allow to cool. Mix together the creme fraiche, yoghurt, icing sugar, orange juice and zest. Drain the cooled rhubarb and add the pieces to the yoghurt mix. Stir to combine, the rhubarb should be soft enough to break up into the mixture as you stir. Spoon into serving dishes and leave to chill in the fridge for 2 hours before serving.

Enjoy eating,

Helen x

