Jamie’s Fishy Mission

Posted on March 30, 2011

2


I’ve recently started to purchase Jamie Oliver’s monthly food magazine, which I’ve resisted for some time as I had thought the Jamie brand was on some world domination mission that I wasn’t sure I wanted to be part of. One purchase convinced me otherwise. The magazine has real heart and soul in it. Yes, the recipes are not all from Jamie but his stamp and influence can definitely be seen throughout.

It’s free from gimmicks and focuses on quality food, topical debates and superb illustration and photography. I’m an absolute convert and now it’s one of my favourite food magazines and also the one that I most frequently cook from.

In this month’s magazine, Jamie tackles the scaly issue of fish sustainability and the fact that we’re overfishing our seas and depleting our stocks. Instead of providing a list of ‘what not to eat’, I much prefer the approach taken, which is to showcase some fantastic recipes for lesser-used fish.

The recipes range from Crispy Skinned Mackerel and Asian Dressing to Pouting Fish Fingers and Sweet Potato Chips. I wanted to cook everything, at once!!! With this variety of dishes and given the price of some of this fish is actually cheaper, I can happily avoid the more contentious fish such as cod and haddock.

I’ve shared one dish with you below. Jamie’s recipe was Coley Korma, though I’ve actually used pollack (Sainsbury’s were out of fresh Coley!) which is also on the ‘good’ list! The flavours in this dish are wonderfully light and tangy and the crusty top creates a lovely contrast with the soft flakes of the fish. I’ll be making this over and over again (once I’ve tried everything else that is!!).

Happy Fish Korma

1 tbsp korma paste, 2 x 200g pollack or coley fillets (skin on, pin-boned), olive oil, 2 spring onions (finely sliced), 100ml low-fat coconut milk, a few coriander sprigs, 1/2 red chilli (deseeded and chopped), 1 lemon/lime (cut into wedges)

Spread half of the korma paste over the flesh of the fish fillets. Heat olive oil in a pan (medium heat) and place fish, flesh side down, into the pan. Leave for 8-10 minutes, you want a slightly blackened crust to form. Turn over to cook skin-side down and then add the greener slices of the spring onions, coconut milk, coriander stalks and most of the chilli. Simmer for a few minutes until the fish begins to flake. Place the fish on your serving dish, pour over the sauce and scatter with the coriander leaves and remaining chilli. Serve with a wedge of lemon/lime (recipe serves 2).

 – photographed with roasted vegetable salad.

Enjoy eating,

Helen x

Tagged: , ,