Keralan Prawns

Posted on March 21, 2011

2


Clearly, one look through the history of my Parlour & Pantry posts reveals that I am cursed with a sweet tooth, hence my savory posts are in the minority.

I have to make a conscious effort to cook savory food and not just rush to dessert! This is considerably aided by the masses of cookery magazines I buy every month (MS Living, Delicious, Olive, Good Food Magazine & Jamie – gosh, that seems a lot on reflection!!), which tempt me with their savory wares and edible photography.

This dish came from April’s edition of Olive Magazine. There is a great Keralan restaurant in Nottingham, where I live, and I’ve been keen to replicate the flavours at home for some time, but have been daunted by the number of ingredients required to get the delicate but complex flavour combinations. This recipe achieves this with only 9 ingrediants, all of which are staples in my house. Top tip with the ginger to avoid waste is to buy it fresh and then freeze it. It will then be on standby when you need it and I also find it easier to grate (use a microplane grater for best results).

Having made this a few times now, I can see it rapidly becoming a week night staple dish for my OH and I. It’s easy, healthy and quick to cook, which are the sort of savory solutions I need to convince me that cake is not the only answer!

Keralan Prawns

1 onion (finely chopped), oil, 1 tsp turmeric, 2 cloves of garlic (crushed), 2 cm piece of ginger (grated), dried red chilli or chilli flakes (crushed), 1 tin chopped tomatoes, 200g raw peeled prawns, low fat yoghurt (to serve), coriander (optional – to serve)

Gently fry onion in oil for 5 minutes until softened. Add turmeric, garlic, ginger and chilli and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add tomatoes and simmer for 10 minutes. Stir in prawns and cook until they turn opaque. Serve with rice or indian bread and top with yoghurt and coriander (serves 2).

Enjoy eating,

Helen x

