Almond & Pear Tart

Posted on March 17, 2011

2


I’ve been having a bit of a pantry clear-out lately, resulting in the discovery of a number of oddities lurking at the back of my kitchen cupboards.

It would appear that a vast amount of my cupboard space is taken up by individually questionable tins of pears, cherries, pumpkin puree, chestnuts, evaporated milk and condensed milk….to name but a few!

I presume that at some point in time, I bought these for a specific recipe that I read or created in my busy-little head only to be forgotten and usurped by another. Now these lonely tins languish, unloved, in the dark recesses of my kitchen. Time to bring these beauties back to like, starting with this Almond and Pear Tart.

This is a superbly easy recipe, bearing some resemble to a frangipane layer of a tart, minus the pastry. Indeed, I’m sure  you could add this to a pastry case if you wanted to enhance the dish further. However, I made this late on a school night and didn’t have the patience for pastry (I rarely do!). The scattering of sliced almonds makes the perfect crunch-contrast with the warming almond cake with their toasty flavour enhancing the almost caramel-like taste of baked pears.

I recommend serving this straight from the oven with a ball of your favourite vanilla ice-cream melting down the sides. I should say though, that this lasted for a good few days in the house of Parlour & Pantry and was equally lovely served cold, with the pears taking on a slightly stickier texture.

Almond & Pear Tart

1 tin of pears (drained & chopped), 80g caster sugar, 1 lemon (juiced), 100g butter (softened), 3 eggs (beaten), 30g plain flour, 30g flaked almonds

Preheat oven to 180c/GM4. Line a medium springform tin (about 20cm) with baking paper. Beat butter with sugar until creamy. Add the egg a little at a time (adding a spoon of your flour if it starts to curdle) until combined. Stir through remaining flour and ground almonds. Mix in the chopped pears and pour into baking tin. Scatter almonds over the top and bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden and firm. Leave to cool for 5-10 minutes before slicing and serving.

Enjoy eating,

Helen x

