Orange & Cardamom Scones

Posted on March 6, 2011

2


I’ve got a bit of a thing about cardamom. It’s my favourite spice by far. I appreciate the qualities of cinnamon, the power of chili and the subtle depth of nutmeg, but the aroma of cardamom is exoticism itself!

I’m determined to get my hands on Jamie Oliver’s Pink Grapefruit, Ginger and Cardamom scented candle to surround the home of Parlour & Pantry with this delightful fragrance.Until then, my cooked goods will have to suffice!

Cardamom can be used in both savory and sweet dishes and is often found in rice. My preference though, is for its inclusion in sweet dishes, where I feel it really makes a dessert taste unique. It’s packs quite a powerful flavour, so if you’re not a fan you’re unlikely to be convinced by whatever form it comes in (I find that the “marmite effect” also applies for people with coriander too!)

Here, I’ve used it to make the humble scone an altogether more glamorous affair! If I was feeling pretentious, I’d serve this with mint tea and honey. More often I’m just feeling greedy and I’d serve these warm on their own or with a spoon of ginger preserve.

Cardamom & Orange Scones

 

120ml milk, 1 egg, 3 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 260g self-raising flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsp ground cardamom (freshly ground from pods is best), 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg (freshly grated is best), 1 orange (zested), 100g unsalted butter (cubed), 25g pine nuts (lightly toasted),

Glazing:  20ml milk, 20g granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 200c/GM6. Mix 120ml milk, egg, sugar and vanilla together. In a separate bowl, mix flour, spices, salt and orange zest. Add the cubed butter to the dry ingredients and rub together to resemble breadcrumbs. Add 3/4 of the pine nuts and the egg mixture and combine with your hands (dough should be quite loose but not sticky – add a little more flour if required). Roll dough out on a floured surface to about 2.5cm thick. Use a pastry cutter to cut out rounds and lay on a baking try lined with parchment paper. Press remaining pine nuts into the top of the rounds and brush with milk. Finally, scatter with sugar and bake for 15-20mins until tops are golden. Leave to cool slightly and eat.

Makes 8-10. Can be frozen when cool.

Enjoy eating,

Helen x

