Carrot, Lemon, Apple & Raisin Cake

Posted on March 4, 2011

0


I find myself buying a huge selection of fruit and vegetables every week, ambitiously hoping a fridge full of this vibrant produce will appeal to me more than a bag of Haribo (it generally does unless I’m feeling especially lazy!).

Sometimes, I go overboard and the fridge holds a guilty array of over-bought stocks crying out for me to use. This is where I found myself this week. Carrots, Bramley apples and lemons all needed consuming to prevent waste. With my sweet tooth calling me, as always it does, I decided to throw all these ingredients into a loaf cake with the addition of a few spices and a handful of raisins.

It was somewhat of a gamble, having had each in their individual cake form previously (carrot cake, apple cake, lemon cake etc…), I’ve never tried them jumbled together before. Hence this was a surprising success!

The cake is deliciously moist and fruity and the lemon icing adds a nice sharpness to the soft, spiced dough. Use a large loaf tin for this amount and you’ll be gifted with 10-12 moreish slices. I kept mine in the fridge for about 4 days, but you could easily slice and freeze this to fulfil mid-week cake urges!

Carrot, Lemon, Apple & Raisin Cake

 

200g caster sugar, 100g butter/margarine, 2 eggs, 300g self-raising flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp allspice, 2 carrots (peeled & grated), 2 Bramley apples (peeled & cubed), 100g raisins, 150g icing sugar, 1 lemon ( zested & juiced)

Preheat oven to 170c/GM4. Grease a large loaf tin (line if required). Cream the butter and sugar until smooth and line. Gradually beat in the eggs until combined (add a spoonful of the flour after each egg if the mixture starts to curdle). Add the flour, baking powder and allspice to the mix and stir to combine. Mix through the carrot, lemon zest, chopped apples and raisins. Pour into the loaf tin and bake for 45 minutes. Insert a skewer into the cake to check if it’s fully cooked (skewer will come out sticky if not – leave in for another 10 minutes and do the skewer test again – repeat until the skewer comes out clean). Remove from the oven and leave to cool. Remove from the tin and set on a serving dish. Mix together the icing sugar and lemon juice until smooth and pour over the cake. Leave to set (about 30 minutes) before slicing and serving.

Enjoy eating,

Helen x

