Baked Apple Pudding with Roasted Hazelnuts

Posted on February 21, 2011

0


This recipe started life as a baked pineapple and almond pudding, courtesy of Dan Lepard, god of all things baked (seriously, if you’re not aware of him take a look at his amazing recipes featured in The Guardian). It’s a bit of a story as to how it’s ended up and Baked Apple Pudding with Roasted Hazelnuts, but bear with me….

So, first there came the pineapple. It arrived, spiking sharply out of my vegetable box as if it dared me to challenge it’s rightful place amongst it’s more seasonal accompaniments in the box. Having not anticipated this fruit, I drew a blank as to what to do with it! On a hot summer’s day, I might barbecue it and serve with cool ice cream or slice it thinly, chill and serve with a chilli syrup. But on a cold, wet day in February, neither seemed appropriate.

If it doubt, google.com (my other half and I have had words about my readiness to google.com without thinking first…I’m sure I’m loosing brain cells with every search….). Dan’s baked pineapple was in the top three, I needed look no further. A quick peruse of the ingredients indicated I had everything in stock (or so I thought) and so I set to work.

First, the task of unleashing the juicy pineapple from it’s armour. Knife at the ready, I sliced through the skin but to my disappointment no sticky, sweet juice trickled out. Instead I was faced with a hard, sour piece of fruit that no amount of baking would improve.

Time for a quick change of plan……the veg box had also supplied a surplus of apples. I peeled a few, mixed them with brandy, sugar and lemon and placed in the hot oven for 20 minutes. A quick beating of butter, sugar, eggs, ground almonds, flour and a little more brandy (hic!) and my frangipane topping was ready to pour oven the baked fruit, which had now created a sticky syrup with it’s accompanying ingredients.

However, one final deviance was required from Dan’s recipe due to the lack of flaked almonds in my cupboards (pantry replenishment required!). So, in a last ditch attempt to finally get this pudding in the oven, I scattered a few chopped hazelnuts over the top and roasted.

….and then it emerged!! A wonderful, sweet, crunchy pudding with a rich, warming and comforting frangipane sponge that was happiness on a spoon. The apples were soft and juicy and the hazelnuts added a lovely texture and flavour contrast to the dish. Whilst I’m sure Dan’s dish would have been perfection, this little mishap is likely to be remade more than once!

 

Baked Apple Pudding with Roasted Hazelnuts

8 medium apples, 1 lemon (juiced), 6tbsp brandy, 240g caster sugar, 100g butter (softened), 100g ground almonds, 2 tbsp plain flour, 25g hazelnuts (roughly chopped)

Preheat oven to 180c/GM4.Peel, core and slice apples. Mix with lemon juice, 4 tbsp brandy, 40g caster sugar in a baking dish large enough to fill half way with your apples. Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes. Whilst cooking, beat together the remaining sugar with the butter. Mix through the almonds, flour and remaining brandy. Pour over the baked apples, scatter with hazelnuts and roast for another 20 mins (or until golden) at 200c/GM6. Serve warm with cream or ice cream (recipe serves 4 greedily).

Enjoy,

Helen x

