Chilli Chicken Noodle Soup

Posted on February 5, 2011

2


Soups are perfect for this time of year. Healthy, low-fat, tasty & filling. The best winter food possible and great if you’re dieting.

I often eat soups like this in Thai restaurants in giant bowls with those cool noodle spoons. I’ve tinkered around with what I’m guessing the recipe is to perfect it for my tastebuds, as you may do for yours!

I think it’s delicious and so quick to make. It takes about 10 minutes to pull together and feels like you have a bowl of goodness before, banishing away any winter blues.

If you have any homemade chicken stock, then clearly use this. Otherwise, I’m a fan of the Knorr Stock Pot. You’ll need good quality chicken stock as it’s the base of the flavours here. In the recipe, I’ve assumed you’re using an uncooked chicken breast, but if you have some cooked, leftover chicken, just reduce the simmer time and use that instead (waste not, want not!).

I use 1 red and 1 green chilli as I’m a bit of a wimp on the chilli heat front. If you’re bolder, add more!

Chilli Chicken Noodle Soup

 

200g chicken breast (sliced into small strips), 1 packet precooked noodles (about 150g), small handful mint (chopped), large handful flat-leaf parsley (chopped), 1 red chilli (finely chopped), 1 green chilli (finely chopped), 1 lemon, 500ml chicken stock

Place the chicken breast and stock in a saucepan and simmer for 5-10 minutes until chicken is cooked. Use a large spoon to skim of any residue that may have formed. Add the noodles and simmer for a further 3-4 minutes. Squeeze the juice of the lemon into the soup and gently stir. Take off the heat and stir through the herbs and chilli. Serve at once (makes 2 generous portions)

Enjoy,

Helen x

