Blue Cheese Crackers

Posted on February 2, 2011

0


I’m becoming quite a fan of making my own crackers, though I have to admit that I’m yet to make enough to serve them with a cheese board.

Instead, I’ve been munching on these savory treats with a glass of white wine as pre-dinner bite. I previously posted a recipe for Parmesan & Seed crackers https://parlourandpantry.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/parmesan-seed-crackers/ which is worth a look is you fancy making a few different crackers at the same time.

This recipe is a great use of any leftover blue cheese and once made, you can freeze the dough until you need it (just defrost for about 4-6 hours first), which makes the whole homemade cracker thing considerably easier!

I’ve used a star cutter for no particular reason other than it amused me! For a more grown-up look, I suggest a normal round cutter…

These will keep for 1 week if stored in an airtight box – they have never lasted that long in the house of Parlour & Pantry though!

Blue Cheese Crackers

150g blue cheese (roughly chopped), 100g softened butter (roughly chopped), 1 egg yolk, 100g plain flour (plus extra for dusting), 75g polenta, 1 tsp poppy seeds
 

 

Preheat oven to 200°C/GM 6. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Use a fork to mash the cheese, butter and egg yolk together in a bowl.  Add the flour and polenta and use your hands to combine into a stiff dough. Shape into a ball, wrap in cling film and chill in the freezer for 15 minutes. Dust your work surface and roll the dough to 5mm thick. Cut out 20-30 rounds (depends on the size of your cutter) and put onto baking sheets. Press poppy seeds into your shapes and bake for 12-15 minutes until golden. Leave to cool.

Enjoy,

Helen x

