Soda Bread

Posted on January 15, 2011

0


To tell you the truth, I’ve been a little under the weather. Afflicted by a winter cold, even my love of food and cooking has diminished in a hazy cloud of sleep deprivation and constant sneezing.

I need comforting food, that wraps around me like a blanket. Thick soups, mugs of tea and warm bread will see me through.

So, as I sit here typing, with the comforting noise of River Cottage Bites on the TV, I have in the oven a loaf of soda bread baking and browning. This is the best bread for these ill times. Minimal mixing (just 4 ingredients, all in the mixer in 1 go), no rising (straight into the oven following a 5 minute need) and quick cooking (35 minutes).

Of course, it’s all a great recipe for when you’re not ill too! I like to serve it thickly sliced with cheese, chutney and ham – I’m sure you’ll find your own way to enjoy it!

Soda Bread

450g wholemeal plain flour, 2 tsp bicarbonate of soda, 400ml buttermilk, 1 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 200c/GM6. Place flour, bicarb and salt in a large bowl. Mix through the buttermilk and knead for 5 minutes. Place dough on a baking sheet lined with parchment, shape dough into a round, about 8 cm thick. Cut a deep cross into the top of the dough and bake for 30 – 35 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before slicing and serving.

Enjoy,

Helen

