Eating Las Vegas

Posted on January 10, 2011

2


I’ve been away for a few days to the city of Las Vegas. A bright, noisy, bustling city that quite frankly left me wide-eyed and drained!

Whilst there, I made time to fit in some eating (of course) and thought I’d share some of my discoveries with you.

Las Vegas is awash with great restaurants. All of the best hotels have high-end establishments, often endorsed by big-name US chefs such as Thomas Keller. Due to budget and lack-of-bookings, I couldn’t stretch to the top-of-the-top but found some really good options in the middle-budget range.

I spent my first night dining at the bar of a great Sushi restaurant called Shibuya in the MGM Grand Hotel.

The menu was extensive and exciting, if you’re a lover of Sushi, and my bar seat meant I could watch the highly skilled chefs prepare all the dishes. I was mesmerised by their slicing, chopping and artful presentation  (possibly a side effect of the jet lag too!). Price wise you could end-up with a sizeable bill here if you let you stomach rule, but I find sushi quite filling anyway and my Tiger Roll and Tempora Noodle Soup came in at around $35.

Shibuya has a very “cool” atmosphere, so possibly not the place if you just want to relax, but great for people, food and chef watching!

On the second night, I decided to go down a more touristy route and headed to Caesars Palace and the Forum Shops to eat at Spago, a Wolfgang Puck restaurant overlooking a recreation of the Trevi Fountain (only in Vegas….).

I ate of the more informal cafe menu, which was eclectic. Dishes ranged from Bavarian Pork to an Italian Bolognese. I settled upon an Asian Salmon dish, with a ginger sauce and a delicious celeriac remoulade. The flavours and textures were singing in my mouth! The crunch of the celeriac, with the tanginess of the lime and ginger sauce, silky avocado and perfectly cooked soft salmon was heavenly. At $20 it was also great value and much cheaper than eating that close to the real Trevi Fountain!

My final night in Vegas took me to the Venetian, an indoor recreation of Venice canals accompanied by more designer shops than you can wave your credit card at. I had wanted to eat in Bouchon, a French Bistro that is part of Thomas Keller’s empire. However, my lack of booking meant that wasn’t an option so I settled upon Canaletto, an Italian restaurant serving a wide selection of regional recipes.

The restaurant has lots of seating options, from private dining in a very quite little bridge overlooking the canal, to a more open terrace-style dining, in the midst of designer shops and under a false-sky giving the illusion of day time (very disorienting!).

I chose Zuppa de Pesce (fish stew), which was fine. A good selection of fish, but the accompanying watery tomato broth was disappointing. At $29 (about £20) it wasn’t a bargain, but in Vegas and situated in that particular location it was reasonable.

So, there you have it! My quick restaurant review! Shibuya came top for me, I only wish we had more choice of Sushi restaurants in the Midlands!

The next roving foodie report will come from the real Venice in late February!

Helen x

