Parsley Pesto

Posted on January 1, 2011

2


Pesto has been a pantry essential ever since I left home. I have tried so many jars and spread, stirred and spooned it into so many dishes I can’t remember them all!

After all of this playing around with pesto, my favourite uses seem to be stirring a spoonful into a savory muffin mix, adding dollops to a homemade soup, adding to a simple pasta dish or smearing on toasted ciabatta as a supper snack.

Despite buying all of the ready made jars I could get my hands on in supermarkets and delis, it took me a while to realise how deceptively simple it was to make yourself and how much better and fresher it tasted as a result.

This recipe (from Rachel Allen) is for a delightfully simple parsley pesto. You’ll need 4 ingredients, a food processor and that’s it! It tastes a little more punchy than traditional basil-based pesto and, when covered with a layer of oil, will keep in your fridge for up-to 1 month. So it’s a great standby for quick meals and snacks.

One important note though, olive oil is the most predominant ingredient in this dish, so I would advise buying and using a ‘good’ one for this recipe. It will greatly improve the end result!

Parsley Pesto

30g pine nuts, 30g freshly grated parmesan,30g chopped flat leaf parsley, 90ml olive oil, seasoning to taste

Place all ingredients into a  food processor and puree to combine into a sauce. Season to taste and serve. To store, place pesto in an appropriate container, cover with a layer of olive oil and refrigerate for up to 1 month.

Enjoy,

Helen x

