White Chocolate & Cherry Crunch Trifle

Posted on December 30, 2010

5


One of the nicest things I could ever receive are people’s recipes. That may sound odd, but I’ve got lots and lots of cookery books with far more recipes than I could ever cook and whilst I love pouring over each glossy page imagining I have the time to cook them all, they are storyless to me.

Recipes shared by friends and family are different. They have a story and they come with a duty to try them out, which gives them higher priority than anything Nigella, Jamie, Martha or Nigel may tempt me with.

This is one such recipes which was gifted to me by my friend’s mother, following her own mother’s visit to a cookery demonstration. The recipe booklet was kindly copied for me and this particular recipe caught my eye.

Trifle seems to be having a bit of a comeback. Not the Birds custard, tinned fruit, whipped cream and jelly trifle of my childhood memories though, but large gourmet trifles with syrupy-liquor and sponge-fingers replaced by home-baked cake bases.

This trifle combines lots of my favourite foods in one gooey, rich and decadent dessert. I made it for a lunch time dessert in individual bowls, however I think it would look stunning at a party in a large trifle bowl too.

The other really good thing about this dessert is that you can make it 24 hours in advance, which takes the pressure off on eating day! Also, if you strip away the cherry compote, you’re left with a lovely white chocolate mousse that can be served on its own, or with the nut crunch topping!

It’s pretty easy to make, but you will need a few different bowls for all the components and the more organised you can be the better!

White Chocolate & Cherry Crunch Triffle

500g cherry compote (e.g. Bonne Maman) or cherry pie filling, 2tbsp brandy, 200g white chocolate, 400ml double cream, 3 egg whites, 75g ratafia biscuits*, 75g roasted hazelnuts (coarsely chopped)

Break chocolate into small pieces and melt in a bowl over a pan of simmering water (don’t let water touch the bowl). Put to one side to cool slightly. Lightly whip cream and fold through the melted chocolate. Beat egg whites until stiff (not dry) and gradually fold into cream mixture. In a separate bowl, add brandy to the cherry compote and stir through. In a separate bowl, crush the biscuits and add the chopped nuts, stir to combine. Now, you need to assemble your trifle. Take your serving dishes and divide 2/3 of the biscuit mix between them. Next divide 1/2 of the cream mix over the top. Then divide all of the cherry mixture and spread over the cream. Finish with the remaining cream mix and sprinkle with the remaining biscuit mix. This amount will be enough for 6 individual portions or 1 large bowl.

*Ratafia are small, crunchy amaretti biscuits. You can buy them from most major supermarkets in the continental biscuit area

Enjoy,

Helen x

