Apple & Onion Chutney

Posted on December 8, 2010

4


I’m rather partial to cheese and chutney. Often, I don’t even need a cracker to accompany this duet and will be happy to consume without.

Shop-bought chutney is the usual choice, due to time and ingredient constraints (which I’m hoping the allotment will help to reduce next year!) and can be quite hit and miss.

The perfect chutney for me is packed full of fruit, with interesting textures, a perfect balance of tangy-sweetness and a hint of spice.

 

This apple, onion and raisin and chutney is a winner for me. Easy to make (20 minutes chopping and 40 minutes simmering), a delight to eat and lovely to gift. Highly recommended homemade treat!

I now have several jars stored away for all the lovely cheese Christmas will bring…

Apple & Onion Chutney

1.5 kg cooking apples (peeled & diced), 650g light muscovado sugar, 500g raisins, 2 medium onions (diced), 1 tbsp grain mustard, 2 tsp ground ginger, 1 tsp salt, 700ml cider vinegar

Mix all ingredients together in a large pan. Bring to the boil. Simmer uncovered for 40 minutes. Leave to cool in pan. Pour into sterilised jars and seal (makes 4 medium/80z jars).

