Cheat’s Chocolate Truffles

Posted on November 26, 2010

0


Magazines this time of year are full of lots of rather inspiring ways to make home-grown gifts for your loved ones at Christmas. This is all very well and lovely, and I too have been struck by the desire to create and give…only with a lingering feeling that people might prefer Boots 3f2 than my pantry creations….

Anyway, I have been particularly taken with thoughts of sharing homemade chutney with my nearest and very dearest, but good grief, what purchases must be made to enable this!! Special pans, thermometers, sterilisation bits and bobs, jars, labels….I’m tired before I’ve even chopped my ingredients. This amount of planning does not lend itself to my impulsive kitchen tendencies.

A quicker, edible gift creation must be found…and here it is! Cheat’s Chocolate Truffles..this is entirely my lazy recipe, based upon the American ‘cake pop’ which seems to be rather popular. It’s not quite a traditional, premium truffle, despite appearances. Instead it’s a chocolate covered ball of sticky-sweet cake, flavoured with spices of your choice. When you bite through the cold chocolate your teeth sink straight into soft cake. It’s quite an interesting sensation when you’re more used to a firm, ganache-style truffle filling. 

You can premiumise/effortise this by making your own cake, or you can do as I have done and buy Sainsbury’s ready-made Madeira cake (gosh…the guilt and not baking my own!!). Any guilt I hope will be mitigated by the fact that you can have these homemade creations from a pile of ingredients to a pile of guest-worthy, chilled truffles in 1 hour. This recipe is for white chocolate and milk chocolate spiced truffles. I’ll post another recipe for next week for dark chocolate and cinnamon dusted truffles.

Chocolate Spiced Truffles

150g white chocolate, 150g milk chocolate, 1/2 tsp ground allspice, 150g madeira cake, 150g cream cheese, 40g icing sugar

Crumble the cake into a bowl and stir through the cream cheese, allspice and icing sugar. It should be moist enough to roll into a firm ball but not too sticky. Chill for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes melt the milk chocolate (microwave easiest method here!), take half of the cake mix and roll into 5-6 evenly sized balls, using the palms of your hands. Drop, 1-by-1, into the chocolate and gently roll to cover. Remove and place on a lined baking sheet. Repeat this with the remaining mix and the melted white chocolate. Place the truffles in the fridge to cool for 20 minutes and serve (recipe makes 10-12 truffles).

Helen x

