Fruit & Nut Biscotti

Posted on November 12, 2010

2


Biscuits are the dieters demon….if I don’t buy them, I’m safe from their alluring crunch, but put me in a meeting with a plate of hob nobs and my resolve weakens too quickly for my own good.

I’ve always been a fan of biscotti, for their ability to satisfy the biscuit need without all of the ‘bad fats’ lurking within. They are cooked without butter or added fat, which in my book makes them almost healthy (this is the same book that considers Haribo to be almost good for you, so I please don’t rely on my judgement!).

They are also very, very easy to make. A one-bowl baking wonder – few baked delights can be created without considerable mess along the way.

I’ve adapted the recipe from the Popina Book of Baking, which by the way is amazing from start to finish. The recipe is really flexible, add your choice of nuts, fruit, chocolate and spices in the quantities to match the recipe and away you go. They keep for about 1 week in a sealed container (apparently, I’ve never been able to let a batch last for more the 3 days before greedy fingers grab them!).

The quantity below will make roughly 25 fruity slices of biscotti..

200g plain flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 100g caster sugar, 30g pistachio nuts, 30g hazelnuts, 60g sultanas, 60g chopped apricots, zest of 1 lemon, 2 eggs (beaten)

Preheat oven to 150c. Prepare a baking tray with a sheet of baking paper. Sift flour with baking powder into a large bowl and add all ingredients. Mix with hands to create dough like mixture and roll on a floured surface into a log. Place log on baking tray and flatten slightly to 8cm width. Bake in oven for 30 minutes, until slightly springy (if too firm leave for longer). Remove, leave to cool for 10 minutes and then use a serrated knife to slice width-ways into 5mm thick biscotti. Lay slices back on baking sheet and return to oven for 10-15 minutes until golden (turn mid-way through cooking). Leave to cool.

