Lemon and Earl Grey Madeleines

Posted on October 11, 2010

0


The elegant madeleine… a worthwhile endeavour for the cake tin alone. My cake pan is a rather modern silicone affair, but I long for a vintage, french madeleine tin worthy of this Earl Grey creation. The sort of tin that should be mounted and hung as wall art, which for note are readily available at www.re-foundobjects.com a rather fabulous website of vintage delights for the home.

Anyway, the recipe again comes from the legacy of feedahappylife, another happy creation I can’t justifiably leave behind. I think this description, from Marcel Proust (in the book ‘In Search of Lost Time’), whilst a little grandiose, perfectly sums up the appeal of madeleines for me…

“She sent out for one of those short, plump little cakes called petites madeleines, which look as though they had been moulded in the fluted scallop of a pilgrim’s shell. And soon, mechanically, weary after a dull day with the prospect of a depressing morrow, I raised to my lips a spoonful of the tea in which I had soaked a morsel of the cake. No sooner had the warm liquid, and the crumbs with it, touched my palate than a shudder ran through my whole body, and I stopped, intent upon the extraordinary changes that were taking place…at once the vicissitudes of life had become indifferent to me…”

The recipe for delicately flavoured Earl Grey and Lemon madeleines below, will make enough for 12 mouthfuls of delight….personal opinion is that they are best eaten on the day of baking so consume as soon as they are cool enough to do so for maximum enjoyment and bake more for the next day!

3 tbsp butter, 90g plain flour, ¼ tsp baking powder, pinch salt, 40g caster sugar, 1 Earl Grey tea bag, 1 lemon (zested), 1 egg, 2 tsp honey, ½ tsp vanilla essence

 

Preheat oven to 150c. Melt butter until turning brown. Rip open tea bag and grind contents to a fine powder. Add powder to sifted flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.Rub the sugar and zest together with your fingertips until the sugar feels moist. Add the eggs to the sugar mix and beat. Add honey and vanilla to egg mixture and beat. Fold in flour and Earl Grey mixture. Fold in melted butter. Pour into tin. Chill for 1 hr in fridge. Bake for 10 -12 minutes in the oven until risen. Leave to cool and serve

